Early day motion 879

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned about the current situation of the people of Afrin, who have been subjected to Turkish Government aggression; notes that Afrin has been one of the more stable parts of Syria and that it has become a destination for hundreds of refugees from many cities including Aleppo; further notes that its current population has risen from 400,000 before the war to roughly 750,000; believes that the true victims of Turkey's invasion of northern Syria are refugees, babies, women and children; further notes that Afrin borders Turkey on the north and is surrounded on its other sides by Syrian government forces and rebel forces including Al Qaeda; recognises that Afrin like other parts of Rojava is run democratically and peacefully with an emphasis on religious and ethnic pluralism, restorative justice, and the liberation of women and economic cooperatives; further recognises that YPG, YPJ and SDF forces, backed by the US, have been the most successful groups in defeating Daesh in Syria; is further concerned that the Turkish government's recent actions are widely judged to have worsened the prospects for peace in Syria and wider Middle East; condemns the use of violence by Turkey's Army on the people of Afrin and the Kurdish forces in Syria; and calls on the Government, as a matter of urgency to press the importance of respect for fundamental human rights and rule of International law.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 08.02.2018
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 05.02.2018
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 26.02.2018
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 20.02.2018
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 20.02.2018
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 05.02.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 31.01.2018
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 31.01.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 31.01.2018
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 21.05.2018
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 20.02.2018
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 01.02.2018
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 06.02.2018
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 12.03.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 20.02.2018
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 31.01.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.01.2018
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 20.02.2018
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 01.02.2018
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 02.02.2018
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 01.02.2018
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 08.02.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 06.02.2018
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 31.01.2018
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 06.02.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 30.01.2018
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 20.02.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 31.01.2018
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 30.01.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 30.01.2018
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 22.02.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 30.01.2018
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 01.02.2018