Tudor history

Search collection
Advanced search

Commissioned in 1908, the six subjects relating to Tudor history were painted by Henry Payne, Denis Eden, Cadogan Cowper, Frank Salisbury, Ernest Board and John Byam Shaw under the supervision of the mural painter Edwin Austen Abbey, who in turn worked to the First Commissioner, Lewis Harcourt.

The scheme was the first mural paintings initiative of the 20th Century to be realised, and was noted as a priority by a Select Committee set up in 1907 to report on the unfinished decorations of the Palace of Westminster from the previous century. The individual paintings were presented to the House of Commons by Liberal peers.

 The rich colours, with each artist working to an agreed palette of predominantly red, black and gold, together with the uniform height of the figures, give these paintings a unity and balance within this busy public corridor.