Skip to main content

Virtual tour women and parliament 2019

Women and Parliament virtual tour image permissions

Westminster Hall

  • Apple cart image - Bertha Newcombe 1910
    Courtesy of the LSE Women's Library
  • Photograph of the artwork New Dawn by Mary Branson, 2016. © Parliamentary Copyright
  • Plaque commemorating Emily Wilding Davison installed in the Chapel of St Mary Undercroft by Tony Benn MP. © Parliamentary Copyright

St. Stephen's Hall

  • Dearsley window designs, 2000. © Parliamentary Archives, HL/PO/DC/OF/WA/3/1
  • Press cutting of Marion Wallace-Dunlop, 1909. © Parliamentary Archives, HC/SA/SJ/10/12/21
  • Closeup of the Dearsley window design depicting the Cat and Mouse Act, 2000. © Parliamentary Archives, HL/PO/DC/OF/WA/3/1
  • Sketch of a ventilator in Ladies Gallery Attic in St Stephens, 1834, by Frances Rickman . © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA 26
  • Closeup of the missing spur from the statue of Viscount Falkland by John Bell, 1845. © Parliamentary Art Collection WOA S35
  • For details of the paintings in St Stephen's Hall see

Central Lobby

  • Image of Muriel Matters removed from the Grille, 1908. © House of Commons Library, Illustrated London News
  • Central Lobby protest, The Daily Graphic, 1906. © Parliamentary Art Collection (Curator's Reference Collection)
  • Millicent Fawcett © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA Reference Collection
  • Emmeline Pankhurst by John H F Bacon, c.1908. © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA 5438

Members' Lobby

  • Margaret Thatcher, by Antony Dufort, 2007, WOA S531 
  • George Lansbury and John Stuart Mill. Images courtesy of the LSE Women's Library
  • Diane Abbott © Parliamentary Copyright
  • Eleanor Rathbone © Parliamentary Archives, WHI/17/2

House of Commons Chamber

  • The Ladies' Gallery, Illustrated London News 1870. © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA 3938
  • Introduction of Lady Astor as first woman MP by Charles Sims. © Plymouth City Council (Arts and Heritage)
  • The Rt. Hon Betty Boothroyd Chosen Speaker In The Year 1992 by Andrew Festing, 1994. © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA 3845
  • Suffragette Banner, 1908. © Parliamentary Archives, HC/SA/SJ/3/1
  • Jo Cox Coat of Arms. © Parliamentary Copyright/Jessica Taylor
  • Image of women MPs in the House of Commons Chamber. © Parliamentary Copyright/Jessica Taylor
  • Barbara Castle. © Parliamentary Archives, PUD/14/130

House of Lords Chamber

  • Baroness Hayman, the Lord Speaker, by Sergei Pavlenko, 2008. © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA 6806
  • Frederick and Emmeline Pethick Lawrence. © Parliamentary Archives, ST/286/3
  • Black Rod, Sarah Clarke, on her first day in the chamber. © House of Lords 2018/Roger Harris
  • Female members of the House of Lords. © House of Lords 2018/Roger Harris
  • Spirit of Justice by Daniel Maclise, 1849. © Parliamentary Art Collection WOA 2967

Peers' Lobby

  • Portrait of Margaret Haig Thomas, Viscountess Rhondda, by Alice Burton. © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA 7177
  • Home Rule Debate in the House of Lords in 1893 Gladstone's second bill rejected, with the Marquess of Salisbury speaking, 1893, Mr Lowes C. Dickinson Foster. © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA 2945

Timeline images

  • The Great Reform Act, 1832. © Parliamentary Archives, HL/PO/PU/1/1832/2&3W4n147
  • Extract from the appendix to the Report of the House of Commons Select Committee on Public Petitions, 1866. © Parliamentary Archives, HC/CL/JO/6/417
  • National Union of Women's Suffrage Societies (NUWSS) pin badge. © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA S745
  • Postcard of Emmeline Pankhurst. © Parliamentary Archives, STH/DS/4/9/3
  • Ethel Smyth at a Women's Social & Political Union (WSPU) meeting, 1912. Courtesy of the LSE Women's Library
  • Women's Freedom League postcard. © Parliamentary Archives, WAR/6/19
  • ‘Grace Before Meat', Force feeding cartoon, 1913. © Parliamentary Archives, HC/SA/SJ/10/12/46
  • National League for Opposing Women's Suffrage pin. © Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA S749
  • Millicent Fawcett's Hyde Park address on 26 July 1913. Courtesy of the LSE Women's Library 
  • Emily Wilding Davison memorial leaflet, 1913. © Parliamentary Archives, HC/SA/SJ/10/12/66
  • Prisoners Temporary Discharge for Health Act 1913 (Cat and Mouse Act). © Parliamentary Archives, HL/PO/PU/1/1913/3&4G5c4
  • Women at work during World War I. Courtesy of the LSE Women's Library
  • Representation of the People Act 1918. © Parliamentary Archives, HL/PO/PU/1/1918/7&8G5c64
  • Constance Markievicz. Image Courtesy of the National Library of Ireland.
  • Viscountess Astor's election leaflet. © Parliamentary Archives, BRO/1
  • Representation of the People (Equal Franchise) Act 1928. © Parliamentary Archives, HL/PO/PU/1/1928/18&19G5c12
  • Test Roll showing the signatures of the first Life Peers, 1958. © Parliamentary Archives, HL/PO/JO/8/135
  • The Rt. Hon. Margaret Thatcher, Prime Minister by Henry Mee, 1992. © Parliamentary Art Collection/Henry Mee WOA 3634