Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Swearing in

Selected letter S

Swearing in is the process of making an oath - or a solemn affirmation - of allegiance to the Crown. Members of both the House of Commons and the House of Lords are required to swear in before they can take their seats in Parliament.

Find out more

What's happening in your Parliament?