Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:


Selected letter S

An Act of Parliament (also called a statute) is a law made by the UK Parliament.

All Acts start as bills introduced in either the Commons or the Lords. When a bill has been agreed by both Houses of Parliament and has been given Royal Assent by the Monarch, it becomes an Act.

Acts are known as ‘primary legislation’ because they do not depend on other legislative authority.

Find out more

What laws are currently being discussed in Parliament?