Skip to main content


Selected letter S

A session is a parliamentary year. Sessions normally begin in the Spring with the State Opening of Parliament, and run for around 12 months, ending with the prorogation of the session. There are normally five sessions in each Parliament.

Find out more

What's happening in your Parliament?