Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Secretary of State

Selected letter S

The title typically held by Cabinet Ministers in charge of Government Departments. While most departments are run by a Secretary of State there can be some exceptions, for example, the Chancellor of the Exchequer heads HM Treasury.

Find out more

Who works in Parliament?