Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:


Selected letter Q

A quorum is the minimum number of MPs or members of the House of Lords needed for a division (vote) to be valid or for a parliamentary committee to function. Quorums for different types of business are set out in the standing orders for each House.

Find out more

What's happening in your Parliament?