Skip to main content


Selected letter P

The United Kingdom Parliament is made up of three parts - the Crown, the House of Lords and the House of Commons. Parliament's main functions are to conduct debates, to make and change legislation (laws) and to check the work of Government.

A Parliament is also the period of parliamentary time between one general election and the next.


Find out more


Find out more about how you can get involved with Parliament. 

Watch the video on YouTube