Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:


Selected letter P

The United Kingdom Parliament is made up of three parts - the Crown, the House of Lords and the House of Commons. Parliament's main functions are to conduct debates, to make and change legislation (laws) and to check the work of Government.

A Parliament is also the period of parliamentary time between one general election and the next.


Find out more


Find out more about how you can get involved with Parliament. 

Watch the video on YouTube