Skip to main content

Oath of Allegiance

Selected letter O

Members of both the House of Commons and the House of Lords are required to take an oath of allegiance to the Crown before they first take their seats in Parliament, and after a general election. Any MP or Member of the House of Lords who objects to swearing an oath can make a solemn affirmation, which omits the religious references, instead. This process is known as swearing in.

Find out more

What's happening in your Parliament?