Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Lord of Parliament

Selected letter L

A Lord of Parliament is a member of the lowest rank of Scottish peerage. From 1707 to 1963 they were represented in the House of Lords by representative Peers. From 1963 to 1999 they were all entitled to sit in the Lords. The House of Lords Act 1999 removed the entitlement of hereditary Peers, including Lords of Parliament, to automatically sit in the House of Lords.

Find out more

Who works in Parliament?