Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Lord Great Chamberlain

Selected letter L

The Lord Great Chamberlain is the hereditary Officer of State to whom the Sovereign entrusts the custody and control of those parts of the Palace of Westminster not assigned to the two Houses, principally, the Robing Room and the Royal Gallery. When the Sovereign opens Parliament the Lord Great Chamberlain is responsible for the arrangements. The Lord Great Chamberlain also has control jointly with the Speakers of the two Houses over Westminster Hall and the Crypt Chapel. 

The Lord Great Chamberlain sometimes participates in introductions and is responsible for administrative arrangements when the Sovereign is present. Under the House of Lords Act and Standing Orders the Lord Great Chamberlain remains a member of the House despite being an hereditary Peer.

Find out more

Who works in Parliament?