The House of Commons Commission

As the overall supervisory body of the House of Commons Administration, the House of Commons Commission is responsible for the administration and services of the House.

Its responsibilities include appointing staff of the House, preparing and laying before the House the Estimate for the House of Commons Service, allocating functions to House departments and keeping staff pay and conditions broadly in line with those of the Civil Service. The Commission was established by the House of Commons (Administration) Act 1978.

Latest news

House of Commons Commission bulletin, 10 February 2014

Education Centre: the Commission welcomed the fact that the proposed Education Centre had been granted planning permission by Westminster City Council, subject to conditions.  The new facility will be at the northern edge of Victoria Tower Gardens, and will enable the number of education visitors to Parliament to increase from 40,000 to 100,000 per year.  It will be a high-quality demountable building; planning permission has been obtained for a period of 10 years. (Contact: Lawrence Ward – 3030)

Speaker’s Parliamentary Placement Scheme: the Commission discussed revised arrangements for administration of the Scheme.  The Scheme provides nine-month paid work experience placements designed to open up Parliament to people from disadvantaged backgrounds who are interested in politics but who would not be able to afford to undertake an unpaid internship.  Participants spend four days a week working with a Member and one day a week with the House Service.(Contact: Anne Foster – 1412)

Finances: the Commission agreed not to lay an Administration Estimate Supplementary for 2013/14.  (Contact: Myfanwy Barrett – 0833)

Employment Matters: The Commission was briefed on recent developments including the outcome of the court case on pay progression and pay negotiations with the trade unions representing House staff. (Contact: Andrew Walker – 5460)

Security: The Commission agreed its preferred approach to the renewal of the security arrangements in 2015.(Contact: Paul Martin – 0591)

bservations on matters in the bulletin or other aspects of the House’s administration should be sent to for the attention of the Commission.

Commission membership: Mr Speaker (Chair), Sir Paul Beresford, Frank Doran, Angela Eagle, Andrew Lansley (Leader of the House) and John Thurso.

Useful information

For more information regarding the House of Commons Commission please contact:

Robert Twigger - Secretary to the Commission
Tel: 020 7219 3270

Liz Bolton - Assistant Secretary to the Commission
Tel: 020 7219 6394

Ronnie Jefferson - PA to Secretary to the Commission
Tel: 020 7219 3299


View the Governance structure of the Commons administration (PDF PDF 278 KB)