Skip to main content

The State Opening of Parliament 

The UK general election took place on Thursday 4 July 2024. The new Parliament met on Tuesday 9 July 2024 for the election of the Speaker and swearing-in of MPs and Lords. The State Opening of Parliament and The King’s Speech will take place on Wednesday 17 July 2024.

Find out more about:

View the 2024 general election results.

Ecclesiastical Committee

Selected letter E

The Ecclesiastical Committee is made up of 15 MPs and 15 members of the House of Lords that are nominated by the Speaker and Lord Speaker respectively. The Committee's role is to consider the merits of any draft Measures issued by the Church of England's General Synod and advise on whether or not they should be approved by Parliament.