Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:


Selected letter E

The British Peerage has five ranks within it. Earl is the third of the ranks or grades. The title dates from Saxon times and was the highest rank until the title of Duke was created.

Find out more

Who works in Parliament?