Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Deferred divisions

Selected letter D

In the Commons, MPs sometimes vote on a series of motions (proposals) using ballot papers at a convenient time (currently between 11.30am and 2pm on Wednesdays) instead of holding each division immediately at the end of a debate.  These are known as deferred divisions.

The result of a deferred division can be found in the Votes and Proceedings for the day it took place.


Find out more

What's happening in your Parliament?