Skip to main content


Selected letter B

As senior members of the Church of England, which is the established church, some bishops are entitled to sit in the House of Lords. The Archbishop of Canterbury, the Archbishop of York, the Bishops of London, Durham and Winchester and 21 other bishops in order of seniority together form the Lords Spiritual.

Further information on this subject can be found from the following links.

Lords by party and type of peerage

Alphabetical list of Members of the House of Lords

Find out more

Who works in Parliament?