Select Committees becoming paperless offices (2013)


Could I ask for a list of Select Committees which have accepted running as a paperless Committee.

Could you also list which Members of those Committees are in receipt of an iPad for such use in the paperless Committee.


You asked us to provide you with details of Committees which have accepted as running ‘paperless’. At 01.03.2013, the following select Committees have formally decided to move to electronic only distribution of Committee papers:

Administration Committee
Business, Skills and Innovation Committee
Energy and Climate Change Committee
Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee
Public Accounts Committee
Public Administration Committee
Political and Constitutional Reform Committee
Science and Technology Committee
Welsh Affairs Committee

The Liaison, Communities and Local Government, Defence and Work and Pensions Committees have also decided to do so, but iPads have not yet been issued to their members.
These decisions are recorded in the formal minutes of the Committees which are published on the Committees’ parliamentary websites.

You also asked us to provide you with a list of Members who have received iPads as part of this scheme.
The loan of iPads for Select Committee work on a pilot basis is part of a wider programme of change in the Committee Office, which will reduce costs, increase efficiency, and switch some major areas of work to a digital-first approach. Changes include: submission of written evidence via a web based portal; large scale reduction in traditional reliance on printing, especially for written and oral evidence; introduction of new design and content for all select Committee web pages.
Members who have been loaned iPads under this programme are:

Adrian Bailey MP
Alan Haselhurst MP
Alan Whitehead MP
Albert Owen MP
Alun Cairns MP
Andrew Griffiths MP
Andrew Miller MP
Andrew Turner MP
Ann McKechin MP
Anne McIntosh MP
Austin Mitchell MP
Barry Gardiner MP
Bernard Jenkin MP
Brian Binley MP
Caroline Dinenage MP
Charlie Elphicke MP
Chris Heaton-Harris MP
Christopher Pincher MP
Dan Rogerson MP
Dave Watts MP
David Heyes MP
David Morris MP
Dr Phillip Lee MP
Eleanor Laing MP
Fabian Hamilton MP
Fiona Mactaggart MP
Gareth Johnson MP
Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP
George Eustice MP
Geraint Davies MP
Glyn Davies MP
Graham Allen MP
Graham Evans MP
Graham Stringer MP
Greg Mulholland MP
Guto Bebb MP
Hywel Williams MP
Iain McKenzie MP
Ian Lavery MP
Ian Swales MP
Jackie Doyle-Price MP
Jessica Morden MP
Jim Dowd MP
John Robertson MP
John Spellar MP
Jonathan Edwards MP
Julie Elliott MP
Justin Tomlinson MP
Karen Lumley MP
Katy Clark MP
Kevan Jones MP
Laura Sandys MP
Lindsay Roy MP
Marcus Jones MP
Margaret Ritchie MP
Mark Francois MP
Mark Tami MP
Mark Williams MP
Mary Glindon MP
Meg Hillier MP
Mike Weatherley MP
Nadhim Zahawi MP
Neil Parish MP
Nia Griffiths MP
Nick Smith MP
Nigel Mills MP
Pamela Nash MP
Paul Blomfield MP
Paul Flynn MP
Priti Patel MP
Rebecca Harris MP
Robert Smith MP
Robin Walker MP
Roger Williams MP
Rosie Cooper MP
Sarah Newton MP
Shailesh Vara MP
Sheila Gilmore MP
Sheryll Murray MP
Sian James MP
Simon Hart MP
Stephen Doughty MP
Stephen Metcalfe MP
Stephen Mosley MP
Stephen Williams MP
Steve Reed MP
Stewart Jackson MP
Stuart Andrew MP
Tessa Munt MP
Thomas Docherty MP
Tim Yeo MP