Skip to main content

Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards

The Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards is an independent officer of the House of Commons. The current Commissioner is Kathryn Stone OBE.  

The Commissioner investigates allegations that MPs have breached the rules found in paragraphs 11-18 of the House of Commons’ Code of Conduct for Members.

The Commissioner also has oversight of investigations conducted under the Independent Complaints and Grievance Scheme. The Commissioner is the decision-maker for investigations conducted under the scheme, investigating allegations from the parliamentary community about harassment, bullying or sexual harassment by MPs.

The Commissioner keeps the Register of Members' Financial Interests.
The Commissioner ensures all investigations are independent, impartial, thorough and fair.