Skip to main content

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Parliamentary Assembly

The Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe is the world's largest regional security organization whose 57 participating States span the geographical area from Vancouver to Vladivostok. The OSCE Parliamentary Assembly brings together 323 delegates from 56 parliaments.  Its areas of competence are to: 

  • assess the implementation of OSCE objectives by participating States;
  • discuss subjects addressed during meetings of the Ministerial Council and summit meetings of OSCE Heads of State or Government;
  • develop and promote mechanisms for the prevention and resolution of conflicts;
  • support the strengthening and consolidation of democratic institutions in OSCE participating States;
  • contribute to the development of OSCE institutional structures and of relations and co-operation between existing OSCE institutions.

The UK has 13 full representatives in the Assembly and 13 substitute members. The Delegation is appointed by the Prime Minister by Written Ministerial Statement in Parliament.

The UK will be hosting the 29th Annual Session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly. It will be in Birmingham from 2 - 6 July 2022.

There is more information about the 2022 Annual Session here.