PACE Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons

Terms of Reference:

Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons

1. The committee shall consider all relevant matters relating to migration, asylum and displacement, in Europe and in other relevant parts of the world, focusing in particular on the persons affected and their rights. It shall work and propose legal and political solutions and actions for closer European co-operation in these fields, as well as, when relevant, with non-European countries, in keeping with the human rights and humanitarian values of the Council of Europe.

2. The committee shall in particular consider:

2.1. questions relating to migration, including the rights of migrants, during the migration process;

2.2. issues linked to the asylum process in Europe and the rights of asylum seekers and refugees;

2.3. the situation of internally displaced persons in Europe and their rights and humanitarian needs;

2.4. co-operation between countries of origin, transit and destination;

2.5. community relations in multicultural societies, including the situation and integration of migrants and their social, economic and civil and political rights;

2.6. humanitarian law and humanitarian issues.

3. The committee shall represent the Assembly in, and follow the work of, the relevant expert committees of the Council of Europe.


UK members of the Committee:

Full members Alternate members
Sir David Crausby MP Earl of Dundee
Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Nigel Evans MP
Ian Murray MP Rt Hon Liam Byrne MP
Lord Wilson of Tillyorn Paul Scully MP



Refugee and Migrant Children and Young People

Full members Alternate Members
Rt Hon Liam Byrne MP Ian Murray MP
Earl of Dundee


Full member Alternate member
Sir David Crausby MP Ian Murray MP
Paul Scully MP Nigel Evans MP

Co-operation with non-European countries of origin and transit

Full member Alternate member
Nigel Evans MP Paul Scully MP
Lord Dundee

Related link:

Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons