PACE Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

Terms of Reference:

Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

1. The committee shall consider issues relating to culture, science, education, youth, sport and media in Europe and shall encourage cultural co-operation and intercultural dialogue within Europe and between Europe and other relevant parts of the world, in particular the Mediterranean area.

2. The committee shall in particular consider:

2.1. culture, education and youth policies and associated rights;

2.2. cultural diversity and intercultural dialogue;

2.3. management of cultural heritage;

2.4. higher education and research policies;

2.5. the ethics of scientific and technological developments;

2.6. sport and society;

2.7. freedom of expression and information, media freedom and ethics;

2.8. internet governance and security.

3. The committee shall, on behalf of the Assembly, decide on the annual award of the Council of Europe Museum Prize.

4. The committee shall share the Assembly representation in the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI) and the European Centre for Global Interdependence and Solidarity (North-South Centre).

5. The committee shall represent the Assembly in the Council of Europe’s Committee for Works of Art (C-ART).

6. The committee shall represent the Assembly in, and follow the work of, the relevant expert committees of the Council of Europe. 


UK members of the Committee:

Full members Alternate members
Lady Eccles of Moulton Huw Merriman MP
Earl of Dundee Sir Roger Gale MP
John Howell MP Kerry McCarthy MP
Lord Foulkes Angela Smith MP



Culture, diversity and heritage

Full member Alternate member
Lady Eccles Lord Dundee
Angela Smith MP

Media and information society 

Full member Alternate member
Kerry McCarthy MP John Howell MP
Lord Dundee
Lord Foulkes

 Education, youth and sport 

Full member Alternate member
John Howell MP Sir Roger Gale MP
Lord Foulkes

Related link:

PACE Comittee on Culture, Science, Education and Media