Standing Committee

The Standing Committee is composed of the President and the Vice-Presidents of the Assembly, the Chairpersons of the political groups, the Chairpersons of the national delegations and the Chairpersons of the general committees. It is convened at least twice a year and its task is to act on behalf of the Assembly when the latter is not in session, thus ensuring its continuity of action. 

The Committee considers and adopts opinions, resolutions and recommendations on the basis of reports submitted by the committees; it may also hold urgent or current affairs debates. It generally holds a meeting in each member state holding the presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Organisation.


UK members of the Standing Committee:

Mr Christopher Chope MP

Mr Robert Walter MP


Related link:

PACE Standing Committee