Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons

UK members of the Committee:

Full members Alternate members
Baroness Eaton Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP
Mr Jim Hood MP Lord Tomlinson
Mr Edward Leigh MP Mr Christopher ChopeMP
Mr Jim Sheridan MP Mr Geraint Davies MP

Terms of reference:

  1. The committee shall consider all relevant matters relating to migration, refugee and population policy issues.  It shall work and propose actions for closer European co-operation in these fields, as well as, when relevant, with non-European countries.
  2. The committee shall in particular consider: questions relating to migration and refugees in Europe and in other parts of the world, including the problem of asylum-seekers and internally displaced persons as well as close co-operation between countries of origin, transit and destination; population trends in Europe and in other parts of the world and the social and economic effects of those trends; community relations in mulicultural societies, including the situation and integration of migrant workers and their social, economic and political rights; humanitarian law and humanitarian issues.
  3. The committee shall follow the activities of and maintain working relations with the relevant European and international organisations such as the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the United Nations Global Commission on International Migration (GCIM), the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), the International Organisation for Migration (IOM), the International Labour Organisation (ILO) and the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA).
  4. The committee shall represent the Assembly in and follow the work of the relevant intergovernmental expert committees of the Council of Europe.

Related link:

Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons