Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

UK members of the Committee:

Full members Alternate members
Mr Michael Connarty MP Mr Joe Benton MP
Baroness Eccles Mr Oliver Heald MP
Mr Roger Gale MP Baroness Eaton
Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Mr Edward Leigh MP

Terms of reference:

  1. The committee shall consider issues relating to culture in Europe and shall encourage cultural co-operation within Europe and between Europe and other parts of the world, in particular the Mediterranean area.  Culture and cultural co-operation include the fields of science, education, the arts, heritage, media, youth and sport, but in no order of priority.
  2. The committee shall in particular consider: the preservation of Europe's cultural heritage; education and youth policy; the media, including, in particular, questions of media ethics; issues relating to freedom of expression and the role of the artist and censorship, development of respect for and tolerance of differing cultures, including minority cultures within the member states; sport; scientific research; the impact of scientific and technological developments in society.
  3. The committee shall, on behalf of the Assembly, decide on the annual award of the Council of Europe Museum Prize.
  4. The committee shall follow the activities of and maintain working relations with the relevant European and international organsiations such as UNESCO, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the European Cultural Foundation, the European Science Foundation and the European Parliamentary Technology Assessment Network (EPTA).
  5. The committee, together with the Committee on Economic Affairs and Development and the Bureau of the Assembly, shall follow the activities of the Council of Europe North-South Centre.  It shall also follow the activities of the European support fund for the co-production and distribution of creative cinematographic and audiovisual works "Eurimages".
  6. The committee shall represent the Assembly in and follow the work of the relevant intergovernmental expert committees of the Council of Europe.
  7. The committee shall share representation in the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI).
  8. The committee shall represent the Assembly in the Council of Europe's Committee for Works of Art.

Related link:

PACE Comittee on Culture, Science, Education and Media