Bulletin 19 July 2011

House of Commons Commission bulletin, 19 July 2011

Catering.  The Commission has welcomed the Administration Committee’s report and agrees with most of the recommendations.  It has asked that its reservations in a small number of areas be discussed with the Committee by officials, following which it will agree its formal response to the report. (Contact: John Borley x6551)

Members’ stationery.  New rules (PDF 99 KB) (PDF PDF 99 KB) on Members’ stationery and pre-paid envelopes will come into force on 1 August, replacing the rules in the Green Book.  Some restrictions have been relaxed in order to bring the rules more into line with IPSA’s and reduce the risk of unintentional misuse – in particular those relating to letters from Members to people who have not previously contacted them and questionnaires and surveys. IPSA will be asked to consider aligning its own rules with the House’s to remove the remaining differences. (Contact: James Robertson x3060)

Savings Programme.  There will be consultation on the outline of the Savings Programme from 13 October to 11 November, to be followed later by further consultation when more detailed proposals have been drawn up.  A paper drafted by the Management Board will be made available by the Finance and Services Committee on 13 October. (Contact: Elizabeth Honer x6104)

Proposed new standing order. 
To ensure that decisions by the House affecting its own finances are taken with full knowledge of the financial consequences, the Commission is proposing a standing order which requires a financial memorandum to be made available by the Finance and Services Committee or the Accounting Officer before such motions or amendments are debated. (Contact: Robert Rogers x3311)

ttendants.  At the request of several Members the Commission has looked again at its plan to save money by transferring the delivery of mail to Members from the House’s attendants to Royal Mail staff.  It noted that compulsory redundancies have been avoided and that other work is available for those currently delivering mail to Members, and on that basis decided not to change the plan. (Contact: John Borley x6551)

Observations on matters in the bulletin or other aspects of the House’s administration should be sent to gerholddj@parliament.uk for the attention of the Commission.

Commission membership: Mr Speaker (Chair), Hilary Benn, Sir Paul Beresford, Frank Doran, John Thurso, Sir George Young (Leader of the House).