Bulletin 16 July 2012

House of Commons Commission bulletin, 16 July 2012

Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards.  Following interviews with the short-listed candidates, the Commission agreed who it wished to nominate as the next Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards and agreed to report the nomination to the House.  The report will be published shortly.

Income Generation Plans.  The Commission endorsed proposals for further development of the income generation strand of the Savings Programme.  These include a package of activities that taken together will generate some £3 million per annum in net income for the House.  The activities include providing paid-for tours on more days (including some Sundays and bank holidays), offering a greater range of tours and expanding retail activities (including online sales).  (Contact: John Pullinger – 3635)

Administration Committee Reports. The Commission agreed its response to the Administration Committee’s reports on Visitor Access and Facilities and Television: Rules of Coverage (HC13 and HC14 2012–13).

Audit Committees.  The Commission agreed revised terms of reference for the Administration Estimate Audit Committee.   The new terms of reference recognise that, in line with the recommendation of the 2007 Tebbit Review, the Committee is now chaired by one of its external members (currently Alex Jablonowski). (Contact: Ben Williams – 3759)

Water in Committee Rooms. The Commission noted that the trial in Portcullis House committee rooms of using carafes as an alternative to bottled water had been successful, and that the approach would now become normal practice in that building at no additional cost. (Contact: James Robertson – 3060)

Sitting hours. The Commission asked the Clerk of the House to provide a note assessing the impact on House staff of the changes in sitting hours that were agreed on 11 July.

Observations on matters in the bulletin or other aspects of the House’s administration should be sent to twiggerrj@parliament.uk for the attention of the Commission.

Commission membership: Mr Speaker (Chair), Sir Paul Beresford, Frank Doran, Angela Eagle, John Thurso, Sir George Young (Leader of the House).