POST fellowships

POST runs several fellowship schemes with Research Councils, learned societies and charities. Through these schemes, academics are sponsored to spend time working in Parliament. Some fellowships are also open to post-doctoral researchers in academia and industry.

Types of fellowships

Two types of fellowships are available:

Fellowships open to PhD students

These are schemes that enable PhD students to spend (usually) three months working at POST. Most fellows will research, write and publish a POSTnote during their time with us, but some fellows have instead been placed with a parliamentary Select Committee or Library.

Further information about the fellowship schemes is posted here and on the sponsoring organisations' websites.

Fellowships open to academics with PhDs

Between 2016 and 2018 POST ran a pilot Parliamentary Academic Fellowship Scheme, open to academics working in different subject areas and at all career levels. Academics were able to apply to work on a project proposed by a department in Parliament or to submit a project of their choosing.

The pilot is currently being evaluated and more details will be available in summer 2019.

Fellowships open for applications

Future fellowship rounds

The next rounds for the following fellowships will open at various times. Please check here and on the fellowship sponsor's website for further details.

In addition to these schemes, we run a number of competitive schemes with Masters courses to allow Masters students to join POST for one month. These opportunities are advertised through the university course co-ordinators.

Please note that we do not take on undergraduate, masters or PhD students outside of the competitive schemes.

Past fellows

Contact POST

Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology
Houses of Parliament

Stay up to date