Ineligible members of the House of Lords

The members listed below are currently not eligible to take part in the work of the House of Lords.

These members are not included in the Membership of the House of Lords page or the Lords list.

Member Reason Membership type Date of ineligibility
Lord Boyd of DuncansbyDisqualified: Member of the JudiciaryLife peer28 June 2012
Baroness Clark of CaltonDisqualified: Member of the JudiciaryLife peer1 October 2009
Lord Clarke of Stone-cum-EbonyDisqualified: Member of the JudiciaryLife peer1 October 2009
Baroness Hale of RichmondDisqualified: Member of the JudiciaryLife Peer (judicial)1 October 2009
Lord Kerr of TonaghmoreDisqualified: Member of the JudiciaryLife Peer (judicial)1 October 2009
Lord ManceDisqualified: Member of the JudiciaryLife Peer (judicial)1 October 2009
Lord Neuberger of AbbotsburyDisqualified: Member of the JudiciaryLife Peer (judicial)1 October 2009
Lord Thomas of CwmgieddDisqualified: Member of the JudiciaryLife peer4 October 2013
Baroness AmosLeave of AbsenceLife peer26 May 2010
Baroness Ashton of UphollandLeave of AbsenceLife peer7 March 2016
Lord Black of CrossharbourLeave of AbsenceLife peer16 June 2015
Lord Blyth of RowingtonLeave of AbsenceLife peer21 March 2013
Marquess of CholmondeleyLeave of AbsenceExcepted Hereditary25 May 2010
Lord CoeLeave of AbsenceLife peer24 April 2017
Earl of Crawford and BalcarresLeave of AbsenceLife peer8 May 2013
Baroness EmertonLeave of AbsenceLife peer1 December 2016
Lord HardieLeave of AbsenceLife peer4 July 2016
Lord HattersleyLeave of AbsenceLife peer7 September 2015
Lord HuttonLeave of AbsenceLife Peer (judicial)2 March 2015
Baroness King of BowLeave of AbsenceLife peer28 November 2016
Lord Llewellyn of SteepLeave of AbsenceLife peer1 November 2016
Lord MoggLeave of AbsenceLife peer26 September 2014
Baroness NicolLeave of AbsenceLife peer11 June 2012
Duke of NorfolkLeave of AbsenceExcepted Hereditary25 April 2017
Baroness Paisley of St George'sLeave of AbsenceLife peer9 February 2016
Lord Sainsbury of Preston CandoverLeave of AbsenceLife peer25 May 2010
Lord Sainsbury of TurvilleLeave of AbsenceLife peer15 July 2013
Marquess of SalisburyLeave of AbsenceLife peer25 May 2010
Baroness Scotland of AsthalLeave of AbsenceLife peer23 March 2016
Lord Simon of HighburyLeave of AbsenceLife peer23 June 2010
Baroness VaderaLeave of AbsenceLife peer8 December 2011


The information on this page is updated daily when the House of Lords is in session, and at least weekly during recess.

The list includes members who have taken ‘leave of absence’, which must be renewed at the start of each new Parliament. The date given is the date on which leave of absence was last granted.