Parliamentary Studies module

Parliamentary Studies is a higher education module which is co-taught by tutors at a higher education institution and officials from UK Parliament.  It is the only higher education module formally approved by UK Parliament. 

New partner universities selected for teaching from Autumn 2019

Following a competitive process in Autumn 2018, 24 universities have been selected to run the Parliamentary Studies Module from academic year 2019-20 for a five year period.

This is the second time that Parliament has sought collaborators to deliver the module.

The Parliamentary Studies Module has been delivered at a number of universities since 2013-14, and the contracts with existing universities will expire this summer.

Commenting on the announcement of the new partner universities, the Speaker of the House of Commons, Rt Hon John Bercow MP said:

"There can be no better time to learn about politics - how Parliament operates and to hear from the people who work there - than right now when the topic is on everyone's mind.

"Our Parliamentary Studies Module brings the procedures of the House of Commons and the House of Lords to life, providing a wonderful complement to on-campus teaching with a range of resources and services aimed at engaging students and university staff.

"I am so pleased that we now have 24 universities involved in the scheme - four more than previously."

Rt Hon the Lord Fowler, the Lord Speaker, commented:

"Having been a keen supporter of the parliamentary studies programme for several years, I am delighted that it is going from strength to strength, and that its further expansion will mean that many more students throughout the UK will be able to participate.

"The programme has already resulted in a significant increase in the teaching of parliamentary studies and I gladly offer it my continued and enthusiastic support."

The universities that will be able to run the Parliamentary Studies Module in collaboration with UK Parliament from academic year 2019-20 are: University of  Bath, Birkbeck University, University of Birmingham, Brunel University, Cardiff University, University of Edinburgh, University of Essex, University of Hull, Keele University, University of Leeds, University of Leicester, University of Lincoln, University of Liverpool, University of Manchester, University of Newcastle, University of Nottingham, Queen Mary University of London, Royal Holloway University of London, University of Sheffield, University of Strathclyde, Swansea University, University College London, University of East Anglia, University of the West of Scotland.

How does the Parliamentary Studies Module work?

The module provides students with a detailed knowledge of how Parliament works in both theory and practice.  It is delivered through a collaboration between the Houses of Parliament and a UK higher education institution; the institution provides academic and theoretical content, and Parliament provides practical teaching about the work, processes and business of Parliament.

Which universities are currently delivering Parliamentary Studies?

The following universities are currently delivering Parliamentary Studies:

Further information

For more information about the Parliamentary Studies Module, please contact us.

Related links

  • Hansard (the Official Report) is the edited verbatim report of proceedings in both Houses

  • The Parliamentary Archives provides access to Parliament's historic records

  • Parliament is open to all members of the UK public to tour the building and watch debates