Skip to main content

The State Opening of Parliament 

The UK general election took place on Thursday 4 July 2024. The new Parliament met on Tuesday 9 July 2024 for the election of the Speaker and swearing-in of MPs and Lords. The State Opening of Parliament and The King’s Speech will take place on Wednesday 17 July 2024.

Find out more about:

View the 2024 general election results.

Final month of oral evidence for Committee

30 November 2016


The Committee on the Long-Term Sustainability of the NHS enters its final month of oral evidence in December before it drafts its report ahead of expected publication in late March 2017. In December the Committee will hear from twenty four witnesses across three days.


Tuesday 6 December, Committee Room 1, Palace of Westminster

At 10.05am

  • Chris Wormald, Permanent Secretary, Department of Health
  • Professor Chris Whitty, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department of Health

At 11.00am

  • Jim Mackey, Chief Executive, NHS Improvement
  • Professor Sir Mike Richards, Chief Inspector of Hospitals, CQC
  • Professor Terence Stephenson, Chair, GMC
  • Jackie Smith, Chief Executive, NMC

At 12.00 noon

  • Baroness Cavendish of Little Venice
  • Lord Darzi of Denham

Tuesday 6 December, Committee Room 2, Palace of Westminster

At 4.00pm

  • Robert Chote, Chairman, OBR 

Tuesday 13 December, Committee Room 1, Palace of Westminster 

At 10.05am

  • Simon Stevens, Chief Executive, NHS England

At 11.30am

  • Dr Sarah Wollaston MP, Chair, House of Commons Health Select Committee

At 3.00pm

  • Jon Ashworth MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Health, Labour
  • Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP, Spokesperson for Health, Liberal Democrats
  • Dr Philippa Whitford MP, Shadow Westminster Group Leader (Health), SNP

At 4.00pm

  • Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP, Secretary of State for Health, UK Government

Tuesday 20 December, Committee Room 1, Palace of Westminster

At 10.05am

  • Mark Britnell, KPMG

At 11.00am

  • Professor Sir Michael Marmot, Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health, UCL
  • Professor Sir Mark Walport, Government Chief Scientific Adviser (GCSA) and Head of the Government Office for Science
  • Dame Sally Davies, Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health

At 12.00 noon

  • Nicholas Timmins, Public policy commentator, The King's Fund, Institute for Government, King's College London and London School of Economics and former public policy editor at the Financial Times
  • Denis Campbell, Health Policy Editor, The Observer/The Guardian
  • Professor Richard Horton, Editor-in-Chief, The Lancet
  • John McDermott, Public Policy Editor, The Economist
  • Alastair McLellan, Editor, Health Service Journal

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright