Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Defence Committee, Tobias Ellwood, select committees

Tobias Ellwood is the new Chair of the Defence Committee

30 January 2020

Image of UK Parliament portcullis

Following elections across the House of Commons, Tobias Ellwood MP has been elected Chair of the Defence Committee for this Parliament.

The secret ballot of MPs took place on Wednesday 29th January using the Alternative Vote System.  
Tobias Ellwood will formally take up position as Chair of the Committee when the remaining members of the Committee have been named by the House. This is expected to be announced in February. 

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, Sir Lindsay Hoyle MP.

Further information