Early day motion 298


Main content

Total number of signatures: 27

Bardell, Hannah Brock, Deidre Brown, Alan Cameron, Lisa
Crawley, Angela Cunningham, Jim Day, Martyn Docherty, Martin
Gaffney, Hugh Gethins, Stephen Gibson, Patricia Grady, Patrick
Grant, Peter Gray, Neil Hendry, Drew Law, Chris
Lewis, Julian Linden, David MacNeil, Angus McDonald, Stewart
McDonald, Stuart Monaghan, Carol Shannon, Jim Simpson, David
Stephens, Christopher Thewliss, Alison Whitford, Philippa

That this House notes that the Theatre Royal in Glasgow will commemorate its 150th anniversary in 2017; understands that the Theatre Royal first opened in 1867 and, in addition to its role as the oldest active theatre in Glasgow, has served as the first television studio for STV and is currently home to Scottish Opera and Scottish Ballet; further understands that the Theatre Royal reopened in December 2014 following a multi-million pound restoration project, which was supported by the Scottish Government, Glasgow City Council, Heritage Lottery Fund and a range of individual and commercial donors; believes that the Theatre Royal has made a substantial contribution to the cultural life of Glasgow, entertaining countless audiences both on the stage and over the airwaves across Scotland; congratulates the Theatre Royal on their 150th anniversary; and wishes the performers, management team and staff of the theatre every success for the future.