Early day motion 284


Main content

Total number of signatures: 24

Antoniazzi, Tonia Bardell, Hannah Blackman, Bob Bottomley, Peter
Brown, Alan Chapman, Douglas Cowan, Ronnie Cunningham, Jim
Day, Martyn Docherty, Martin Gethins, Stephen Grady, Patrick
Hendry, Drew Hermon, Lady Hopkins, Kelvin Law, Chris
Linden, David MacNeil, Angus Moran, Layla Shannon, Jim
Stephens, Christopher Thewliss, Alison Walker, Thelma Whitford, Philippa

That this House notes the Ministerial Written Statement HCWS109, made on 6 September 2017; welcomes the extended deadline for views on the format and scope of the independent inquiry; thanks Bishop James Jones, former Chair of the Hillsborough Independent Panel and Chair of the Gosport Independent Panel for his voluntary help; further notes confirmation that the Government is considering whether and how to transfer sponsorship of the Inquiry to a government department or office instead of the Department of Health; believes such a move to be justified and appropriate; and expects the Inquiry to be judge-led with the 2005 Act powers.