Early day motion 280


Main content

Total number of signatures: 29

Bardell, Hannah Bottomley, Peter Brown, Alan Cameron, Lisa
Chapman, Douglas Cherry, Joanna Cowan, Ronnie Crawley, Angela
Cunningham, Jim Day, Martyn Gaffney, Hugh Gethins, Stephen
Gibson, Patricia Grady, Patrick Grant, Peter Gray, Neil
Hendry, Drew Hopkins, Kelvin Law, Chris Linden, David
Lucas, Caroline McDonald, Stewart McNally, John Monaghan, Carol
Morris, Grahame M Newlands, Gavin Shannon, Jim Skinner, Dennis
Thewliss, Alison

That this House notes that 9 September 2017 marks the 50th anniversary of the Michael Colliery Disaster in East Wemyss, Fife, in which a fire broke out and nine miners were tragically killed; commends the heroism of the rescue teams who helped to save many lives, including a number of whom were later awarded medals for their bravery; further commends the ongoing work of the Methil Heritage Centre and East Wemyss and MacDuff Community Council in continuing to mark the anniversary commemorating the lives of those who were so sadly killed; and undertakes never to forget the price paid by all those who have been killed, injured or otherwise affected by mining accidents.