Early day motion 344


Main content

Total number of signatures: 158

Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Allin-Khan, Rosena Arkless, Richard Bardell, Hannah
Black, Mhairi Blackford, Ian Blackman, Kirsty Blackman-Woods, Roberta
Boswell, Phil Bottomley, Peter Brake, Tom Brennan, Kevin
Brock, Deidre Brown, Alan Brown, Nicholas Bruce, Fiona
Bryant, Chris Burden, Richard Cadbury, Ruth Campbell, Gregory
Campbell, Ronnie Carmichael, Alistair Chapman, Douglas Chapman, Jenny
Cherry, Joanna Clwyd, Ann Cooper, Julie Cowan, Ronnie
Crausby, David Crawley, Angela Cruddas, Jon Cunningham, Alex
Cunningham, Jim David, Wayne Davies, Geraint Day, Martyn
Docherty, Martin Dodds, Nigel Donaldson, Jeffrey Donaldson, Stuart
Doughty, Stephen Durkan, Mark Eagle, Angela Edwards, Jonathan
Elliott, Tom Ellman, Louise Elmore, Chris Esterson, Bill
Evans, Chris Farrelly, Paul Fellows, Marion Ferrier, Margaret
Field, Frank Fletcher, Colleen Flynn, Paul Fovargue, Yvonne
Furniss, Gill Gethins, Stephen Gibson, Patricia Glindon, Mary
Godsiff, Roger Grady, Patrick Grant, Peter Green, Kate
Hamilton, Fabian Hanson, David Hayes, Helen Henderson, Gordon
Hendry, Drew Hepburn, Stephen Hermon, Lady Hoey, Kate
Hollern, Kate Hopkins, Kelvin Hosie, Stewart Howarth, George
Jones, Graham Kerevan, George Kerr, Calum Kinnock, Stephen
Lammy, David Lavery, Ian Law, Chris Lewell-Buck, Emma
Lewis, Ivan Lucas, Caroline MacNeil, Angus Mactaggart, Fiona
Mahmood, Khalid Mann, John Marsden, Gordon Maskell, Rachael
McCabe, Steve McCaig, Callum McDonald, Stewart McDonald, Stuart
McDonnell, Alasdair McGovern, Alison McKinnell, Catherine McLaughlin, Anne
McNally, John Meale, Alan Mearns, Ian Monaghan, Carol
Monaghan, Paul Mulholland, Greg Murray, Ian Nandy, Lisa
Nicolson, John O'Hara, Brendan Olney, Sarah Oswald, Kirsten
Owen, Albert Paterson, Steven Pennycook, Matthew Phillips, Jess
Pugh, John Rimmer, Marie Ritchie, Margaret Robertson, Angus
Robinson, Gavin Ryan, Joan Salmond, Alex Saville Roberts, Liz
Shannon, Jim Sharma, Virendra Sheerman, Barry Sheppard, Tommy
Simpson, David Skinner, Dennis Slaughter, Andy Smeeth, Ruth
Smith, Owen Spelman, Caroline Stephens, Christopher Streeting, Wes
Stringer, Graham Tami, Mark Thewliss, Alison Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West)
Thomas-Symonds, Nick Thompson, Owen Thomson, Michelle Turley, Anna
Turner, Karl Twigg, Stephen Umunna, Chuka Vaz, Keith
Vaz, Valerie Weir, Mike Whitford, Philippa Williams, Hywel
Williams, Mark Wilson, Corri Wilson, Sammy Winnick, David
Winterton, Rosie Wishart, Pete

That this House notes that workers in the UK lack adequate legal safeguards from working in uncomfortably high temperatures, owing to the lack of a statutory maximum temperature at which employers would have to introduce control measures, such as breaks, access to water or air conditioning; further notes that this would correct an anomaly in current legislation where a legal minimum working temperature exists, but a corresponding upper limit does not exist in statute; appreciates that excessive heat in the workplace is responsible for heat stress and thermal discomfort, and can impact seriously on health, well-being and productivity; recognises that this is a matter of concern for workers in a wide range of workplaces including offices, schools, shops, bakeries, vehicles, trains, call-centres, theatres and construction sites; and calls on the Government to adopt the recommendations of the TUC and joint union Cool It campaign to introduce into law a maximum working temperature of 30 degrees Celsius or 27 degrees Celsius for those doing strenuous work, beyond which employers would have a statutory duty to introduce effective control measures.