Early day motion 1017


Main content

Total number of signatures: 60

Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Bellingham, Henry Black, Mhairi Blackford, Ian
Blomfield, Paul Boswell, Phil Bottomley, Peter Brock, Deidre
Campbell, Gregory Campbell, Ronnie Chapman, Douglas Cox, Jo
Crawley, Angela Cunningham, Jim Day, Martyn Dodds, Nigel
Donaldson, Jeffrey Dugher, Michael Durkan, Mark Edwards, Jonathan
Fellows, Marion Flynn, Paul Gethins, Stephen Gibson, Patricia
Goodman, Helen Gray, Neil Hopkins, Kelvin Kerevan, George
Law, Chris Lucas, Caroline MacNeil, Angus McDonald, Stuart
McLaughlin, Anne McNally, John Meale, Alan Monaghan, Paul
Mullin, Roger Nicolson, John Paterson, Steven Rimmer, Marie
Ritchie, Margaret Robertson, Angus Robinson, Gavin Saville Roberts, Liz
Shannon, Jim Sharma, Virendra Sheppard, Tommy Sherriff, Paula
Stephens, Christopher Streeting, Wes Thewliss, Alison Thompson, Owen
Thomson, Michelle Vaz, Valerie Weir, Mike Whiteford, Eilidh
Whitford, Philippa Williams, Mark Wilson, Sammy Wishart, Pete

That this House is concerned by the announcement that Johnston Press, which publishes titles including the Yorkshire Post, Yorkshire Evening Post, Lancashire Evening Post, The Scotsman and Derry Journal, is to cull almost 100 editorial posts; notes that this announcement comes just days after Newsquest announced that up to 25 journalist posts are to be axed across its Scottish titles; further notes that year-on-year cuts in jobs and closure of newspaper titles have resulted in the loss of 5,000 editorial roles in local and regional press, and the closure of more than 150 newspapers since March 2011; believes that local and regional news coverage is an essential feature of civic life and a healthy democracy; and therefore calls for active government intervention to prevent the destruction of these vital community assets and to establish a short, sharp inquiry to produce a coherent strategy for defending local journalism.