Early day motion 1273


Main content

Total number of signatures: 31

Campbell, Ronnie Caton, Martin Clark, Katy Connarty, Michael
Crausby, David Dobbin, Jim Durkan, Mark Edwards, Jonathan
Flynn, Paul George, Andrew Glindon, Mary Godsiff, Roger
Hopkins, Kelvin Jackson, Glenda Lavery, Ian Leech, John
Llwyd, Elfyn Long, Naomi Lucas, Caroline McDonnell, John
McGovern, Jim Meale, Alan Mearns, Ian Morrice, Graeme
Osborne, Sandra Rotheram, Steve Roy, Lindsay Ruddock, Joan
Sanders, Adrian Shannon, Jim Watson, Tom

That this House shares the widespread and continuing public concerns regarding the power of media barons in the events leading up to the Leveson report; notes that recent legislation gagging civil society groups has only served to amplify the voices of established news organisations, thereby distorting democratic debate; condemns the way in which groups such as benefit claimants, immigrants, women and environmental campaigners are routinely misrepresented in the media; believes that there should be urgent action to safeguard the right to independent and pluralistic information; further notes that a coalition of civil society organisations and professional bodies from throughout Europe has come together with the immediate purpose of running a European Citizens Initiative demanding action to ensure media pluralism; and therefore expresses its support for the UK Coalition on Media Pluralism which aims to open up a serious debate on the need to limit the concentration of media ownership and to increase the range of voices in the local and national media.