Early day motion 1008


Main content

Total number of signatures: 66

Abbott, Diane Anderson, David Barron, Kevin Bayley, Hugh
Campbell, Ronnie Caton, Martin Clark, Katy Clarke, Tom
Corbyn, Jeremy Crausby, David Cryer, John Cunningham, Alex
Cunningham, Tony Davidson, Ian Davies, Geraint Dobbin, Jim
Doran, Frank Durkan, Mark Edwards, Jonathan Engel, Natascha
Esterson, Bill Flynn, Paul Francis, Hywel Galloway, George
Gapes, Mike George, Andrew Glass, Pat Glindon, Mary
Hain, Peter Hancock, Mike Havard, Dai Hepburn, Stephen
Hood, Jim Hopkins, Kelvin Howarth, George James, Sian C
Lavery, Ian Llwyd, Elfyn Love, Andrew MacNeil, Angus
McDonnell, Alasdair McDonnell, John McGovern, Jim Meale, Alan
Mearns, Ian Morrice, Graeme Morris, Grahame M Murphy, Paul
O'Donnell, Fiona Osborne, Sandra Owen, Albert Ritchie, Margaret
Robertson, John Rotheram, Steve Roy, Frank Roy, Lindsay
Ruddock, Joan Sheridan, Jim Skinner, Dennis Stringer, Graham
Walley, Joan Watts, Dave Weir, Mike Williams, Hywel
Williamson, Chris Winnick, David

That this House notes that March 2014 marks the 30th anniversary of the start of the 1984-85 miners' strike; further notes that strike's devastating impact on coalfield communities throughout the UK, including those in the Lothians; commends the many thousands of people across the UK who showed solidarity with the striking miners in their local communities; regrets that nearly 30 years after the strike ended, there are still men who were wrongly arrested or convicted during the dispute, who have never received justice; and welcomes plans to commemorate the strike's anniversary in East Lothian and in other communities across the UK.