Early day motion 2822


Main content

Total number of signatures: 29

Bruce, Malcolm Caton, Martin Clarke, Tom Corbyn, Jeremy
Cunningham, Jim Dobbin, Jim Durkan, Mark Edwards, Jonathan
Flynn, Paul Francis, Hywel George, Andrew Hancock, Mike
Harris, Tom Hosie, Stewart Leech, John Llwyd, Elfyn
MacNeil, Angus McDonnell, Alasdair McDonnell, John McKenzie, Iain
Meale, Alan Morrice, Graeme Owen, Albert Ritchie, Margaret
Robertson, Angus Rogerson, Dan Sheridan, Jim Weir, Mike
Whiteford, Eilidh

That this House notes that the Gaelic Language (Scotland) Act 2005 established Gaelic as an official language of Scotland; notes, however, that while UK-based agencies responsible to the UK Government recognise Welsh as an official language, the same does not apply to the Gaelic language; and urges the Government to establish Gaelic on equal terms with English and Welsh.