Early day motion 1270


Main content

Total number of signatures: 51

Barron, Kevin Blenkinsop, Tom Bottomley, Peter Campbell, Ronnie
Caton, Martin Clark, Katy Connarty, Michael Cooper, Rosie
Crausby, David Dobbin, Jim Dodds, Nigel Durkan, Mark
Evans, Chris Flynn, Paul Gapes, Mike Gilmore, Sheila
Glindon, Mary Godsiff, Roger Hancock, Mike Harris, Tom
Hemming, John Hermon, Lady Howarth, George Jones, Susan Elan
Joyce, Eric Kaufman, Gerald Lazarowicz, Mark Lloyd, Tony
Llwyd, Elfyn Long, Naomi McCrea, Dr William McDonnell, Alasdair
McDonnell, John Meale, Alan Morris, David Morris, Grahame M
Mowat, David Owen, Albert Riordan, Linda Ritchie, Margaret
Robertson, John Rotheram, Steve Roy, Frank Roy, Lindsay
Simpson, David Skinner, Dennis Stringer, Graham Swales, Ian
Thurso, John Vaz, Valerie Williams, Mark

That this House notes that while traditionally printed books and printed papers are exempt from VAT, e-books are subject to the full rate of 20 per cent.; further notes that e-books produced within other jurisdictions are not necessarily subject to similar taxes and therefore enjoy a huge competitive advantage; recognises that e-book publications is a growing industry which should be encouraged and supported within the UK; and calls on the Government to bring forward proposals to standardise VAT for books and printed papers, whether published in electronic or printed form, at the current rate of zero per cent.