Early day motion 327


Main content

Total number of signatures: 184

Abbott, Diane Alexander, Danny Amess, David Ancram, Michael
Austin, John Bailey, Adrian Baker, Norman Banks, Gordon
Bayley, Hugh Begg, Anne Beith, Alan Berry, Roger
Betts, Clive Blunkett, David Bone, Peter Borrow, David S
Bottomley, Peter Brake, Tom Breed, Colin Brooke, Annette
Bruce, Malcolm Burstow, Paul Burt, Lorely Cable, Vincent
Cairns, David Campbell, Gregory Campbell, Menzies Campbell, Ronnie
Carmichael, Alistair Carswell, Douglas Caton, Martin Clark, Katy
Clarke, Tom Clwyd, Ann Cohen, Harry Connarty, Michael
Cook, Frank Crausby, David Cruddas, Jon Cryer, Ann
Cunningham, Jim Davey, Edward Davies, Philip Dean, Janet
Dhanda, Parmjit Dismore, Andrew Dobson, Frank Dodds, Nigel
Donaldson, Jeffrey Doran, Frank Drew, David Efford, Clive
Etherington, Bill Evans, Nigel Farron, Tim Featherstone, Lynne
Field, Frank Foster, Don Francis, Hywel Gapes, Mike
George, Andrew George, Bruce Goldsworthy, Julia Gray, James
Hall, Patrick Hancock, Mike Harris, Evan Harris, Tom
Harvey, Nick Heath, David Hemming, John Hepburn, Stephen
Hermon, Lady Hesford, Stephen Heyes, David Hoey, Kate
Holmes, Paul Hopkins, Kelvin Horam, John Howarth, David
Howarth, George Howells, Kim Hoyle, Lindsay Hughes, Simon
Huhne, Chris Humble, Joan Hunter, Mark Iddon, Brian
Jenkins, Brian Keetch, Paul Kemp, Fraser Kennedy, Charles
Key, Robert Kramer, Susan Lamb, Norman Laxton, Bob
Lazarowicz, Mark Leech, John Lepper, David Lloyd, Tony
MacNeil, Angus Main, Anne Malins, Humfrey Mallaber, Judy
Mann, John Marsden, Gordon Mason, John Mates, Michael
McCartney, Ian McCrea, Dr William McIsaac, Shona Meale, Alan
Mitchell, Austin Moffat, Anne Moore, Michael Morgan, Julie
Moss, Malcolm Mulholland, Greg Mullin, Chris Murphy, Denis
Naysmith, Doug Oaten, Mark Olner, Bill Opik, Lembit
Osborne, Sandra Ottaway, Richard Owen, Albert Palmer, Nick
Pound, Stephen Prosser, Gwyn Pugh, John Reid, Alan
Rennie, Willie Robertson, Angus Rogerson, Dan Rooney, Terry
Rowen, Paul Roy, Lindsay Russell, Bob Sanders, Adrian
Scott, Lee Sheerman, Barry Short, Clare Simpson, Alan
Simpson, David Singh, Marsha Slaughter, Andy Smith, Angela C
Smith, Chloe Smith, Robert Spink, Bob Stewart, Ian
Streeter, Gary Stuart, Graham Stunell, Andrew Swinson, Jo
Syms, Robert Taylor, Dari Taylor, Ian Taylor, Matthew
Taylor, Richard Teather, Sarah Thurso, John Touhig, Don
Tredinnick, David Turner, Desmond Walley, Joan Walter, Robert
Wareing, Robert N Webb, Steve Widdecombe, Ann Williams, Betty
Williams, Mark Williams, Roger Williams, Stephen Willis, Phil
Willott, Jenny Winterton, Ann Winterton, Nicholas Wishart, Pete
Wood, Mike Roy Wright, Anthony D Wyatt, Derek Younger-Ross, Richard

That this House notes the significant personal sacrifice armed forces personnel make in their service to the nation once they take the oath or affirmation of allegiance to Her Majesty the Queen; acknowledges that ex-service personnel are proud to receive and wear Her Majesty's Veterans Badge, but notes that it is not awarded posthumously and it is considered by many to be insufficient recognition for the contribution veterans have made to the safety of the nation since the ending of the Second World War; and therefore calls on the Government to rescind its recent decision not to more appropriately recognise the veterans by the award of a national defence medal and instead to establish a working group to work with the Committee on the Grant of Honours, Decorations and Medals, with a view to implementing a national defence medal as soon as possible.