Early day motion 2164


Main content

Total number of signatures: 33

Anderson, David Anderson, Janet Bottomley, Peter Campbell, Ronnie
Cook, Frank Crausby, David Cryer, Ann Dean, Janet
Dobbin, Jim Dodds, Nigel Drew, David Etherington, Bill
Flynn, Paul Galloway, George Gerrard, Neil Hancock, Mike
Hemming, John Hepburn, Stephen Hopkins, Kelvin Hoyle, Lindsay
Illsley, Eric Jenkins, Brian Jones, Lynne McCrea, Dr William
McDonnell, John Meale, Alan Pugh, John Robinson, Iris
Simpson, Alan Stewart, Ian Vis, Rudi Wareing, Robert N
Williams, Betty

That this House congratulates Pam Armstrong of the Council for Information on Tranquilliser and Anti-depressants and Doctor Ghosh Arun and the nursing staff at the Sefton Suite of the Aintree Hospital in Liverpool for setting up the first in-patient withdrawal facility for patients involuntarily addicted to prescription medication; congratulates Sandwell Primary Care Trust, Birmingham for partly funding this facility; further congratulates the Department of Health for undertaking a review of its policy on addiction to prescription medication; and urges the Department of Health to establish a national network of specialist out-patient clinics to treat those addicted to tranquillisers and other prescription medications, and regional in-patient clinics like the Sefton Suite for those too addicted to withdraw at home.