Early day motion 927

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the promise made to the ASW steelworkers to guarantee compensation for pensions that were lost at the time their firm went bust; recognises that in decades of work they paid for 100 per cent of their pensions; further notes that in 2007, those workers agreed to accept only 90 per cent of their pension; further recognises that the Government guaranteed that it would deliver to those workers 90 per cent of the pension for which they paid; acknowledges that inflation since 2007 will have wiped out 25 per cent of the value of a pension issued in 2007; is concerned that the Government has now refused to grant the ASW pensions inflation protected pensions, thereby breaching the guarantee of 90 per cent of a pension, the whole of which should have been theirs in the first place.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 16

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 16 out of 16

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 12.03.2018
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 28.02.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 21.02.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 20.02.2018
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 21.02.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.02.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 22.02.2018
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 26.02.2018
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 05.03.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 23.04.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.02.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 08.02.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.02.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 21.02.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 20.02.2018
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 08.02.2018