Early day motion 877

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House strongly condemns Turkey's unprovoked, aggressive airstrikes on Afrin, a Kurdish canton in Northern Syria, resulting in deaths and injuries of civilians; notes that initiating a military attack on a country that has not attacked you constitutes a war crime; understands that neither Afrin canton, nor any other Northern Syrian Kurdish region, has ever attacked or threatened to attack Turkey; further notes that Turkish jets started targeting civilian areas in Afrin on 20 January 2018, including Afrin city, Cindirêsê, Reco, Shera, Shêrawa and Mabeta districts and the refugee camp Rubar; notes that the Rubar camp hosts more than 20,000 refugees who have fled war-torn parts of Syria, and that Afrin itself hosts more than 200,000 internally displaced people which constitutes over half its population; condemns the Turkish military's alliance with al-Qaeda, Heyet Tahrir El Sam, in coordinated aerial and ground attacks on Afrin, opening up a new and bloody front after seven years of tragic conflict in Syria; believes this can only drag the region into a renewed catastrophe, inflicting hunger, killing more children, creating more displaced people; commends the Kurdish forces in the YPG and YPJ who defeated ISIS in their capital of Raqqa; calls on all democratic forces and public opinion to show solidarity with the people of Afrin, to protest and condemn Turkey's genocidal invasion; condemns the silence of the international community in the face of these attacks which will legitimise the violation of human and fundamental rights.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 18

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 18 out of 18

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 08.02.2018
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 21.03.2018
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 20.02.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 31.01.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 31.01.2018
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 20.02.2018
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 01.02.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 20.02.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.01.2018
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 20.02.2018
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 01.02.2018
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 01.02.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 06.02.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 31.01.2018
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 01.02.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 31.01.2018
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 22.02.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 30.01.2018