Early day motion 861

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the Conscientious Objection (Medical Professionals) Bill by Baroness O'Loan; further notes Article 9 of the European Convention of Human Rights, which states that everyone has the right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion; this right includes freedom to . . . manifest his religion or belief, in worship, teaching, practice and observance, and the consequent upholding of conscience rights by the European Court of Human Rights (see Bayatyan v. Armenia (2011)); notes the existence of conscience clauses in the Abortion Act 1967 and the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Act 1990 and the UK’s honourable history of accommodating conscientious objection; notes the findings of the Parliamentary Inquiry into Freedom of Conscience in Abortion Provision (2016), which found that there are medical professionals who find themselves subject to discrimination due to their beliefs; considers that conscience also applies to areas such as the withdrawal of life-sustaining treatment and the provision of contragestive drugs; is concerned that other medical professionals now have little to no formal statutory protections, a situation which threatens the inclusion of a significant number of people in our society and diversity within the medical profession; recognises that a significant proportion of the public support reform that will strengthen conscientious objection for medical professionals, as a recent ComRes poll (May, 2017) has demonstrated; calls on the Government to give time to the Conscientious Objection (Medical Professionals) Bill, and consider how best to uphold the rights of conscientious objection for those who work tirelessly to provide compassionate care for vulnerable patients.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 01.02.2018
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 24.01.2018
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 05.03.2018
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 26.02.2018
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 21.02.2018
Girvan, Paul Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 22.02.2018
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.01.2018
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 08.03.2018
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 20.02.2018
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 15.03.2018
Lefroy, Jeremy Conservative Party Stafford 13.03.2018
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 01.02.2018
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 27.02.2018
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 21.02.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 25.01.2018
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 21.02.2018
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 27.02.2018