Early day motion 839

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned by the Government's proposal to close nine further courts across the UK, displacing over 130 members of staff; notes that these proposals come at a time when staff morale has been damaged by previous closures, job cuts, pay restraint and privatisation threats; believes that these proposals would result in delays to cases being heard and members of the public having to travel further and for longer to access justice; further believes that the underuse of courts is primarily caused by legal aid cuts, increased court fees and a shortage of staff and judges; insists that unproven and unreliable digital processes such as virtual hearings should not be imposed on courts without a full evaluation of the impact on evidence quality and perception; and calls on the Government to halt these closures, consult relevant unions and review the entire courts closure programme.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 31

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 31 out of 31

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 24.01.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 23.01.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 23.01.2018
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 23.01.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 05.02.2018
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 01.02.2018
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.01.2018
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 21.02.2018
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 05.03.2018
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 01.02.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 31.01.2018
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 24.01.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 25.01.2018
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 30.01.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 25.01.2018
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.01.2018
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 20.02.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 06.02.2018
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 24.01.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 05.03.2018
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 22.01.2018
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 23.01.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 22.01.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 23.01.2018
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 23.01.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 23.01.2018
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 05.02.2018
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 25.01.2018
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 22.01.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 22.03.2018
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 08.02.2018