Early day motion 81

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned by reports that the 44th Glasgow Scout Hall in the Kelvindale area of the city is under threat; recognises that the scout hall on this land was first founded in the 1950s, with a new premises being built by the Scout Association in 1994 following a fire; further recognises that the 44th Glasgow Scout Group took over ownership of the hall in 2003 at a time when it was vacant and in a state of disrepair and have subsequently upgraded the premises to meet Care Commission standards; understands that the land owners Mactaggart and Mickel now wish to develop or dispose of the land and appear to have originally stated that there would be no future provision for the scout hall; welcomes a recent statement by Mactaggart and Mickel indicating that following careful consideration and discussions with Glasgow City Council, the company is willing to consider all options for the scout group which includes replacement or relocation if a suitable facility can be found; appreciates that the scout hall has been an invaluable local resource for many years in an area which has very limited equivalent community facilities and acknowledges the strength of feeling among the local community that the scout hall must be retained; notes that Mactaggart and Mickel have previously quoted a disproportionate cost for the scouts group to buy the land which far exceeds the valuation made by the group's own qualified surveyor and takes no account of the significant expenditure that the group have incurred to refurbish the hall; and encourages all parties to engage in constructive discussions to find a solution which retains a scout hall as a community resource for future generations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 04.07.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 29.06.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 29.06.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 29.06.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 14.09.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 28.06.2017
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 04.07.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 04.07.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 04.07.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 29.06.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 04.07.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 03.07.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 29.06.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 29.06.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 28.06.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 29.06.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.06.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 29.06.2017
Sweeney, Paul Labour Party Glasgow North East 05.09.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 29.06.2017