Early day motion 802

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that an increasing number of NHS trusts in England are attempting to establish wholly owned subsidiary companies to deliver services such as facilities and estates, ostensibly as a means of exploiting a tax loophole; believes that the major savings will in fact come from employing new staff on non-NHS terms and conditions, with no access to the NHS Pension Scheme; considers that such moves amount to backdoor privatisation, which is taking place despite mounting evidence of the failure of outsourcing in the NHS; recognises that the NHS is under extreme financial pressure but considers that such moves are merely short-term fixes that will create further problems in future; asserts that long-term protection of pay and pensions for staff transferring to new companies is weak, with some examples already of such organisations moving unilaterally to change staff conditions post-transfer; further believes that once such companies have been set up, it is far easier for trusts to transfer other staff and services in future; further considers that the NHS always functions at its best when services and staff work together as one team across an organisation, rather than being artificially separated by the establishment of arms-length entities; and calls on the Government to block the creation of any further NHS wholly owned subsidiary companies, while guaranteeing the continuation of the national Agenda for Change pay system and access to the NHS Pension Scheme for all healthcare staff, whether providing clinical or non-clinical services.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 61

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 61 out of 61

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ashworth, Jonathan Labour Party Leicester South 13.06.2018
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 18.06.2018
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 12.09.2018
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 26.06.2018
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 04.09.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.01.2018
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 13.06.2018
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 04.06.2018
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 27.06.2018
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 05.06.2018
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 23.01.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.01.2018
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 24.01.2018
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 04.06.2018
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 16.04.2018
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 13.06.2018
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 17.01.2018
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 22.03.2018
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 04.09.2018
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 22.01.2018
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 19.06.2018
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 04.06.2018
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 16.01.2018
Hollern, Kate Labour Party Blackburn 21.03.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.01.2018
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 04.06.2018
Jarvis, Dan Labour Party Barnsley Central 27.03.2018
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 14.06.2018
Lee, Karen Labour Party Lincoln 27.03.2018
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 20.03.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 22.03.2018
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 26.06.2018
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 04.09.2018
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 21.03.2018
Morgan, Stephen Labour Party Portsmouth South 11.09.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.01.2018
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 05.03.2018
O'Mara, Jared Labour Party Sheffield Hallam 22.03.2018
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 11.09.2018
Rashid, Faisal Labour Party Warrington South 04.09.2018
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 23.01.2018
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 07.06.2018
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 20.02.2018
Shah, Naseem Labour Party Bradford West 05.02.2018
Siddiq, Tulip Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 06.02.2018
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 25.01.2018
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 20.06.2018
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 18.01.2018
Snell, Gareth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 10.09.2018
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 24.01.2018
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 21.03.2018
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 28.03.2018
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 18.06.2018
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 16.01.2018
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 25.01.2018
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 21.06.2018
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 14.03.2018
Williams, Paul Labour Party Stockton South 15.03.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 29.03.2018
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 05.06.2018
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 23.01.2018